CIMA cgma

Resources to help you become a Chartered Global Management Accountant™.

CGMA is the most widely held management accounting designation in the world with more than 137,000 designees. 


What it means to be a CGMA

Chartered Global Management Accountant™ (CGMA®) is the global designation for management accountants. It’s powered by the resources and expertise of the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA) and CIMA, two of the world’s leading accounting organizations.

Why you should rise to the designation of CGMA

91 of the Fortune 100 and 95 of the world’s top 100 brands choose CGMA designation holders*

*Interbrand/Fortune/CIMA, 2013

Legislative & Regulatory Involvement

Benefits of becoming a CGMA

  • Recognizes your experience and skills globally - A CGMA designation adds power to your resume by demonstrating your business acumen, ethics and commitment.
  • Unleash your potential and showcase your value - The skills you master will empower you to rise to any challenge; from helping business owners, CFOs and CEOs to becoming one yourself.
  • Become a part of a community of like-minded leaders - You will be part of a global community of professional management accountants, while managing others and playing an active role in the leadership of the business.
  • Gives you the tools you need to succeed - CGMA tools, webinars, reports and research will teach you the skills to be at the forefront of your profession, giving you a competitive edge.

Pathways to jumpstart your career

  • There are two pathways to becoming a CGMA designation holder, each with education, experience and assessments designed to build on your existing knowledge and career achievements.
  • North America, Central America, South America
  • Europe, Middle East, Asia/Pacific or Africa

CGMA Finance Leadership Program & Case Study Exam

CPAs enter at the Strategic level and have a preferred pathway.

Finance Leadership Program

  • The CGMA Finance Leadership Program (FLP) helps candidates learn at their own pace and prepare for CGMA Case Study Exam
  • There are three levels: operational, management, and strategic
  • Each level immerses candidates into real-life scenarios
  • Following each level, candidates register to take the corresponding case study exam

Case Study Exam

  • All three levels of the CGMA FLP culminate with a Case Study Exam
  • You will apply all your knowledge and skills to deliver insights in a real-world business situation
  • Exams are administered by Pearson VUE, with an option to take the exams at a location convenient for you or online
  • Exams are administrated during four test windows per year
  • A passing grade requires you to earn at least 80 of the available 150 points
  • Once the Strategic Case Study Exam is passed and the practical experience requirement is fulfilled, candidates are awarded the CGMA designation
Legislative & Regulatory Involvement